Stats Update

Standard

I probably won’t be running until Friday since I was off my inhaler for a couple of days and relapsed into some mild breathing issues. I have also been very tired and coughing due to mucus in my lungs. I just got a refill on my prescription yesterday so it might be up to a week of using my inhaler regularly before I’m 100% again.

I forgot to post the changes from my weight analysis about 1 week ago. The end of June to July saw significant discontinuity in my routine (plus lots of Taco Bell & takeout) but there has been progress nonetheless.

May
Weight:     196 lbs
Body Fat:  41.1%
Muscle:     32.2%

Week 1 of running (June 9)
Weight:     189 lbs
Body Fat:  40.1%
Muscle:     32.7%

July 20
Weight:     184.8 lbs
Body Fat:  38.8%
Muscle:     32.9%

I’m encouraged. I truly enjoy running now. I woke up fighting between my intense desire to go out and run anyway and my worry that I might find myself a mile into the run, alone, without my inhaler and in respiratory distress. So I did the smarter thing and decided to stay in. A big part of me is still itching to go, but I’ll be patient and sit on the sidelines for now.

2 responses »

  1. I just stumbled upon your blog, so I don’t know much about you other than you are an asthmatic runner. First, I’d like to give you props – running with asthma is not easy. I used to be on 8+ meds every day for breathing and running was a huge challenge. I went gluten-free five years ago (due to GI issues) and have been able to go off all asthma meds (I think because of the reduction in inflammation) with only two attacks since. It may be something for you to look in to. I wish you the best:)

Leave a Reply

