Getting back on the bandwagon

Standard

This morning I set out for a run that would push my limits the hardest yet. The track: around my neighborhood, along a winding road and back. The distance: 2.30km (1.43mi). As I planned my journey to the brink and back I was excited…and scared, very scared. I took two puffs of my fasting acting inhaler just in case and did my regular stretches for just a bit longer.

I got less than half way when I could feel a cramp setting in, my breathing becoming labored, my shoulders hurting and my quads getting sore. I pushed on. About two thirds of the way I cried mercy and it took everything not to stop. I told my self I would make it just a few more steps, then a few more. I felt like dropping but I knew that if I stopped this “track” would be an asymptote to my progress. Sorry for the calculus reference ^_^. It would be a barrier to my progress that I would find too daunting to surmount.

I pressed on, but like always I paid attention to my body. Even though my mind as keeping me going my body was tired but not at the breaking point. If it was I would have stopped–there is a thin line between perseverance and stress injury and I have no desire to cross it. My little sister stopped about 7/8 of the way, which surprised me but I kept pushing. When I kept running she pushed on and joined me. I finally stopped at the top of my block. I had gone 2.12km (1.31mi). I was tired but I felt great! I am just shy of half way to my goal of 5km! I think I might need to take two rest days but I’m excited about my progress. In less than a month I have gone from 0 to 2.12km.

Leave a Reply

